Lo-Fi-Fnk - The Last Summer (2011)

As Lo-Fi-Fnk sing on ‘Shut The World Out’, “Everything looks the same from a distance”; at first glance, This Last Summer is your standard electro pop album, but after a few rounds it really starts to grow on you. Compared to Boylife, their 2006 debut on Moshi Moshi, the Swedish band have considerably developed both their sound and the depth of their lyrics.

After a bit of a bumpy start, the title track ‘Last Summer’ perfectly captures the feeling of a summer passing you by too quickly; that sense of longing and restlessness, “Another one comes and another one goes”. ‘Boom’ brings rave electro into the mix, and the track would go down well in a club, but the catchy vocals are somewhat dampened by a sound reminiscent of a mosquito stuck in a jar… ‘Marchin’ In’ successfully picks it back up, with bongos and a killer hook.

‘Want U’ is definitely an album highlight. Unrequited love is a bummer at the best of times, but with a song like this, you have no excuses for staying down. “You could be all that you want to/But you can’t make someone want you/You try your best if you want to/But you can’t change your mind even if you’d like to”. The Last Summer closes with ‘Nu Generation’, a slower track that puts softer vocals to use, which perfectly rounds out the album.

Another great record from one of Sweden’s new crop of electro pop outfits, who join the likes of Lykke Li and Robyn. Lo-Fi-Fnk are back with a slow burner that’lltake a few listens before it really wins you over.

The Last Summer
Album art: 
Release date: 
320 kbps

1. Summerlude
2. Last Summer
3. Kissing Taste
4. Boom
5. Marchin' In
6. Want U
7. U Can Have It
8. Forever
9. Sleepless
10. Shut the World Out
11. Nu Generation

Music label: 
Popfrenzy Records
Average: 3.8 (4 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!


Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.