Beirut - The Rip Tide (2011)

In early June 2011, amidst touring the US, Beirut announced that their newest album, "The Rip Tide", which had been recorded the previous winter in New York, was to be released on August 30. The band simulataneously released a single, "East Harlem" (which was first recorded on Live at the Music Hall of Williamsburg ), with the B-side "Goshen"; both songs that appear on the new album. The new album is recorded, managed, and released under Condon's own Pompeii Records, in order to preserve recording rights. Reviewers and fellow musicians have noted that, unlike the prior albums which drew heavily on foreign music from Mexico, France, the Balkans, etc., this one has shown Beirut with its own, more pop-oriented sound; saying, "what emerges [on The Rip Tide] is a style that belongs uniquely and distinctly to Beirut, one that has actually been there all along."

The Rip Tide
Album art: 
Release date: 
192 kbps

1. A Candle's Fire
2. Santa Fe
3. East Harlem
4. Goshen
5. Payne's Bay
6. The Rip Tide
7. Vagabond
8. The Peacock
9. Port of Call

United States
Average: 4.6 (39 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.