Portugal. The Man - In the Mountain In the Cloud (2011)

Atlantic recording group Portugal. The Man has announced the upcoming release of their hugely anticipated label debut. 'In the Mountain In the Cloud' arrives in stores and at all DSPs on July 19th, 2011.

Produced by John Hill (Santigold, M.I.A.) with co-production from PTM lead singer/guitarist/songwriter John Gourley and longtime band producer Casey Bates, and mixed by Grammy Award winner Andy Wallace (Nirvana, Jeff Buckley), 'In the Mountain In the Cloud' marks the first recording to fully harness the Portland, Oregon-based band's exhilarating live show (see track listing below). From the dynamic opener "So American" to the sprawling vision of "Sleep Forever," the album -- Portugal. The Man's sixth overall -- captures a truly distinctive band evolving in real time, revealing their singular sonic vision in its purest and most powerful form thus far.

Portugal. The Man will again bring their extraordinary live power to this year's Lollapalooza. The venerable music festival is slated for August 5-7th at Chicago's Grant Park.

Since their formation in 2005, Portugal. The Man has captured the attention of the American indie scene with their extraordinary amalgamation of electronic beats, complex melodies, and atmospheric post-rock soundscapes. Formed in Wasilla, Alaska by lead singer/guitarist/songwriter John Gourley before migrating south to the Pacific Northwest, the band proved as prolific as they were eclectic, releasing an album each year since their 2006 debut, 'Waiter: You Vultures!'.

Each consecutive collection revealed the ongoing evolution of Portugal. The Man, from the cathartic hard rock of 2007's 'Church Mouth' and the theatrical pop psychedelia of 2008's 'Censored Colors' to the sci-fi chamber-pop found on 2009's 'The Satanic Satanist' and 2010's 'American Ghetto'.

Portugal. The Man is John Gourley: vocals, guitar; Zachary Scott Carothers: bass, vocals; Jason Sechrist: drums; Ryan Neighbors: keys, vocals.

Portugal. The Man
In the Mountain In the Cloud
Album art: 
Release date: 
Buy on Amazon: 

1. So American
2. Floating (Time Isn't Working My Side)
3. Got It All (This Can't Be Living Now)
4. Senseless
5. Head Is a Flame (Cool With It)
6. You Carried Us (Share With Me the Sun)
7. Everything You See (Kids Count Hallelujahs)
8. All Your Light (Times Like These)
9. Once Was One
10. Share With Me the Sun
11. Sleep Forever

Music label: 
Atlantic Records
United States
Average: 3.9 (11 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!


Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.