YACHT - Shangri-La (2011)

This Portland duo broke into the indie-music mainstream in 2009 with “See Mystery Lights,” a set of brainy electro-funk songs inspired in part by the unexplained illuminations observable after dark over Marfa, Texas. Yacht extends that fusion of the high-minded and the street-level on its excellent follow-up effort, “Shangri-La,” which opens with back-to-back disco-rock bangers laying out the band’s thoughts on the future of civilization. The first is called “Utopia” and the second “Dystopia,” but they both sound like emanations from a better place.

Yacht has said that it recorded “Shangri-La” in a more professional setting than it did “See Mystery Lights,” and indeed the new album offers plenty of top-shelf headphone fodder. Check out, for instance, the delicious way an ascending backing-vocal part contrasts with a descending electric-piano riff near the end of “I Walked Alone.” Yet it’s not the exquisite crispness of Yacht’s bass lines that makes “Shangri-La” so appealing (though that certainly doesn’t hurt). Rather, it’s the band’s knack for giving weighty ideas the lighthearted gift of groove.

Album art: 
Release date: 
256 kbps AAC
Buy on Amazon: 

1. Utopia
2. Dystopia (The Earth Is On Fire)
3. I Walked Alone
4. Love in the Dark
5. One Step
6. Holy Roller
7. Beam Me Up
8. Paradise Engineering
9. Tripped and Fell in Love
10. Shangri La

Music label: 
United States
Average: 3.8 (4 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!


Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.