The Book of Knots - Garden Of Fainting Stars (2011)

The Book Of Knots has had the pleasure of collaborating with some of the worlds most talented musicians, including Tom Waits, Mike Patton, David Thomas, Blixa Bargeld, Jon Langford, and Carla Bozulich. Founding members Matthias Bossi (Skeleton Key, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum), Joel Hamilton (producer/engineer for BlakRoc, Pretty Lights), Carla Kihlstedt (Tin Hat Trio, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum) and Tony Maimone (Pere Ubu, Frank Black, Bob Mould) forge a sound both epic and intimate, empowering and devastating. Cinematic, symphonic landscapes give way to crumbling acoustic chamber ballads. Broken guitars and beautifully warped orchestras describe the ungraceful demise of boats, blast furnaces and bloated industries. Accounts of the failed adventures of tragic would-be heroes are given voice in the band's two previous critically-acclaimed releases. Their newest album serves as the final chapter in the bands "By Sea, By Land, By Air" trilogy. GARDEN OF FAINTING STARS, gives dissonant sendoffs to the doomed travelers and early astronauts that plied the skies in a quest for the final frontier: Space. The imagined utopias that await them at the other end of their fantastical journeys inevitably give way to the grim realization which mankind has faced again and again: at every hopeful turn, commonplace realities await us. A vast and empty universe, stretching far beyond infinity, capable of containing the countless imaginary creatures, civilizations, and otherwise terrestrial impossibilities that inhabit our dreams, dies in the fluorescent lighting of the laundry soap aisle at WalMart.

The Book Of Knots once again cast a wormless, rusty hook into the lifeless seas of the music industry, expecting to reap only sorrow.

The Book of Knots
Garden Of Fainting Stars
Album art: 
Release date: 
Buy on Amazon: 

1. Microgravity
2. Drosophilia Melanogaster (feat. Blixa Bargeld)
3. Moondust Must (feat. Nils Frykdahl and Dawn McCarthy)
4. Lissajous Orbit (feat Aaron Lazar)
5. Garden of Fainting Stars (feat. Elyas Khan)
6. All This Nothing
7. Yeager’s Approach (feat. Mike Watt)
8. Planemo (feat. Mike Patton)
9. Nebula Rasa
10. Obituary For The Future (feat. Trey Spruance)

Music label: 
Ipecac Recordings
United States
Average: 5 (3 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.