The Antlers - Burst Apart (2011)

The Antlers expand upon their already distinctive voice with Burst Apart, an inspired melding of complex electronic textures and acutely emotive song craft. The eagerly awaited follow-up to 2009's critically acclaimed Hospice was born out of an intensely collaborative process in which singer/guitarist Peter Silberman, drummer Michael Lerner, and keyboardlst/multl-instrumentalist Darby Cicci fully immersed themselves in sonic experimentation, working as a tightly knit creative unit to fulfill a shared musical vision. Songs like the shimmering "I Don't Want Love" and the languorous "Rolled Together" are lush, nuanced, and uncommonly moving, seamlessly integrating accessible and effective melodies with dynamiC, imaginative orchestrations. With its swelling pulsebeats, Intricately crafted arrangements, and dreamy pop hooks, the remarkably sensual Burst Apart sees The Amlers' ambition and artistry ascending to an extraordinary new plane. "It's a record about moving forward," says Silberman. "Hospice was kind of all- encompassing for a while and this record feels like us trying to figure out the way to move on from It. Not to abandon it, but to keep it In its place and figure out what's next."

Recording began In September 2010 and then continued over a five-month span at the Brooklyn-based band's studio in Bushwlck. Rather than bring in an outside collaborator, the three musicians decided to pool their considerable skills and produce the record e mlrely on their own. Tvo years spent touring behind Hospice had left its mark on The Antlers. In addition to bonding the trio as f.....ds and colleagues, all three had developed an increased Interest In electronic music, what Silberman refers to as "music that keeps moving and is kind of entrancing and expansive at the same time. Headphone music, music that keeps you going while you're driving for 20 hours." The band's goal was to draw upon those post- rock sounds while still employing classic songwritlng structures, symbolizing ostensibly artificial qualities Into an organic pop template to evoke a full panoply of feeling. While The Antlers' ardent passion for musical exploration resonates throughout the album, It expertly sustains a careful balance between the cerebral and the visceral. EpicIn aspiration yet Intimate at its core, Burst Apart Is an astonishingly affective collection that offers an exhilarating glimpse into The AntIers' Incandescent heart.

The Antlers
Burst Apart
Album art: 
Release date: 
320 kbps

1. I Don't Want Love
2. French Exit
3. Parentheses
4. No Windows
5. Rolled Together
6. Every Night My Teeth Are Falling Out
7. Tiptoe
8. Hounds
9. Corsicana
10. Putting the Dog to Sleep

Music label: 
Frenchkiss Records
United States
Average: 3.7 (18 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.