Thursday - No Devolucion (2011)

It would be safe to say there are some bands that truly do not sit still when it comes to shaping their sound. Thursday is one of those bands. After penning a post-hardcore masterpiece in Full Collapse and breaking into the mainstream with War All The Time, Geoff Rickly and company revamped themselves into a less abrasive, more melodic and certainly more experimental band with A City By The Light Divided. Their ongoing quest for a constantly changing musical identity has again and again brought listeners to new realms, and Thursdays newest opus No Devolucin is no exception. A beautiful display of a bands ability to evolve while creating a surreal environment from start to finish, No Devolucin proves to be the most moving album Thursday has penned since they gave us Full Collapse nearly ten years ago.

What sets "No Devolucion" apart from the records they've released since Full Collapse is the success Thursday is able to achieve in creating a memorable atmosphere musically. The bombastic opening of Fast to the End is quickly subsided by driving drums and lush, dense melodies. Ricklys gentle vocals mix well given their production to a slightly raspy output as well, giving this album a very memorable beginning. From the first track, producer Dave Fridmann does an amazing job melding the sounds this band cranks out regardless of the mood a sure sign of the comfort level built between the band and Fridmann over the now three albums theyve recorded together. The experimenting with lush melodies continues in No Answers as a droning hum pushes things along while Rickly again takes center stage. A Darker Forest brings a darker timbre to the table, with eerie guitars and a snare-driven drum beat building the tension at the introduction. When it resolves to the chorus, the melodies stay dark while the drums and vocals go to another level. What is strange about the delving into darker melodies on this record is that after listening to Thursdays split with Envy, none of this seems like it was ever out of reach for these guys Past and Future Ruins, a track featured recently on a split with Underoath, features spurts of abrasion and melody between sections of driving toms and moving keys. It also shows us one of the few hints of unclean vocals on the record in the culmination of the chorus as the fuzzy, grizzly vocals help push the chorus over the edge. Magnets Caught in a Metal Heart is more in

the vein of indie-rock, channeling crisp, yet delicate guitar melodies and echoed vocals to create a rather surreal sound that embraces the atmosphere it creates.

Thursday even channels a somewhat industrial feel in A Gun in the First Act by their use of grimy programming on top of the off-kilter drumming from Tucker Rule. The one true sidewinder comes in the form of Millimeter, which harkens sounds of Flock of Seagulls more than anything else. It takes some time to get used to (what part of this record really doesnt?), but you could argue they own the song nonetheless. It all seems effortless regardless of the path they take, as Thursday proves to be a master at creating moving atmospheric backdrops for their melodies and vocals. If you were looking for a return to the past given the bands touring

on Full Collapse or even a rehashing of Common Existence, you will be in for quite a shock when your ears hear what No Devolucin has to offer On their sixth time recording a full length, Thursday has never seemed so sure of what they were creating as they sound on No Devolucin. It seems time has only made this band more focused and realized, and the tracks here prove once again that Thursday will not sit still regardless of what anyone has to say about them.

No Devolucion
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Fast To The End
2. No Answers
3. A Darker Forest
4. Sparks Against The Sun
5. Open Quotes
6. Past And Future Ruins
7. Magnets Caught In A Metal Heart
8. Empty Glass
9. A Gun In The First Act
10. Millimeter
11. Turnpike Divides
12. Stay True

Music label: 
Epitaph Records
United States
Average: 4.4 (8 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.