Various Artists - Late Night Tales: Midlake (2011)

After a decade of compilations by the likes of The Flaming Lips, Groove Armada, Belle & Sebastian, Cinematic Orchestra, Air and Arctic Monkeys, 2011 looks to be another remarkably successful year for Late Night Tales as Midlake add their edition to the mix.
Slated for release on April 4, 2011, the compilation consists of carefully selected tracks that certainly make up one of the most enchanting and captivating track listings in Late Night Tales history. Journeying across the plains of North America, the wilds of the British Isles and fleeting visits to Holland and Iceland, Midlake’s Late Night Tales is a voyage through all that mesmerizes. Incorporating tracks from the likes of deeply seductive vocalist Scott Walker to Bjork (a frequent among the Late Night Tales compilations) Midlake’s installment certainly does not disappoint.
As with all Late Night Tales installments, Midlake add their own unique twist to the compilation with their exclusive and much honored acoustic cover of Black Sabbath’s ‘Am I Going Insane’. And on top of it all, Will Self draws the compilation to a close with the final part of his spoken word short story, ‘The Happy Detective’.
With a highly anticipated new album in the pipeline and a grand return to End of the Road Festival later in the year, Midlake are a welcomed addition to the diversely talented Late Night Tales family.
Various Artists
Late Night Tales: Midlake
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Bob Carpenter - Silent Passage
2. Bread Love & Dreams - Time's The Thief
3. Fairport Convention - Genesis Hall
4. Steeleye Span - The Blacksmith
5. Lazarus - Warmth Of Your Eyes
6. Espers - Caroline
7. Jimmie Spheeris - Esmaria
8. Scott Walker - Copenhagen
9. Midlake - Am I Going Insane (Exclusive Black Sabbath Cover Version)
10. Bjork - Unravel
11. Beach House - Silver Soul
12. Sandy Denny - Carnival
13. The Flying Burrito Brothers - Christine's Tune
14. Jan Duindam - Happiness & Tears
15. Twice As Much And Vashti - Coldest Night Of The Year
16. Sixto Rodriguez - Crucify Your Mind
17. Nico - These Days
18. The Band - Whispering Pines
19. Will Self - The Happy Detective - part. 4 (Exclusive Spoken Word Piece)

Music label: 
Average: 4.3 (12 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.