Protest the Hero - Scurrilous (2011)

Protest The Hero's well-deserved title as one of the most forward-thinking bands in the metal world today is showcased on their latest album, "Scurrilous". Named after a painting created by Arif's grandfather (which is also the album's cover image), Scurrilous is the band's third full-length album and boasts ten tracks of soaring guitar riffs, bone-chilling operatic vocals, and some of the most personal lyrics Protest The Hero has written to date. Scurrilous is an album unlike any other in Protest The Hero's catalog. For the first time in the band's career, singer Rody wrote the majority of the album's lyrics. " I had a lot going on in my life and I used (Scurrilous) as my outlet," Rody notes. "The songs are really just a loose string of my thoughts and touch upon relationships in my life, both good and bad." Without any conceptual restraints Rody was allotted complete artistic freedom during the writing process resulting in honest and intimate lyrics listeners can make their own. But PTH fans ought not to fret as Scurrilous' lyrics by no means overshadow the riff-oriented music Protest The Hero is known for, but instead create a cohesive shred-fest you can relate to while rocking out. Scurrilous shows Protest The Hero veering away from the mystical and steering straight towards the heart strings of listeners. "I don't really have any idea what people are going to think of it," Rody jokes. "In my mind it (Scurrilous)

Protest the Hero
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. C'est La Vie
2. Hair-Trigger
3. Tandem
4. Moonlight
5. Tapestry
6. Dunsel
7. The Reign Of Unending Terror
8. Termites
9. Tongue-Splitter
10. Sex Tapes

Music label: 
Vagrant Records
United States
Average: 4.1 (17 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.