Gang Of Four - Content (2011)

Gang of Four, a provocative dance band with a history of making smart and vital rock, makes you think on your feet. In 1978, the shock of punk’s punch had music lovers wondering how the hell to follow the previous year’s initial burst of revolutionary music. Gang of Four led the way with an EP called Damaged Goods, followed by one of rock music’s smartest and most urgent albums, Entertainment.

It’s been more than 15 years since Gang of Four released a new album, but "Content" is as angular and questioning as the band was when schoolmates Jon King (lead vocals) and Andy Gill (guitar) first formed Gang of Four in 1977. Gill’s biting bursts of funk and dub helped inspire Franz Ferdinand, Modest Mouse, Red Hot Chili Peppers (Gill produced that band’s first album) and R.E.M., and even Kurt Cobain said that Nirvana started as a Gang of Four ripoff. But this isn’t a guitar band; it’s a band of four where drums, bass and voice all share the same space, and where four thinkers thrive to present a view of the world not found elsewhere

Gang Of Four
Album art: 
Release date: 
320 kbps

1. She Said 'You Made A Thing Of Me'
2. You Don't Have To Be Mad
3. Who Am I
4. I Can't Forget Your Lonely Face
5. You'll Never Pay For The Farm
6. I Party All The Time
7. Fruitfly In The Beehive, A
8. It Was Never Gonna Turn Out Too Good
9. Do As I Say I Can See From Far Away

Music label: 
Groenland Records
United Kingdom
Average: 3.4 (11 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.