Shipbuilding Company - Radios and Flying Birds (2011)

Shipbuilding Co. is the solo work of musician Michael Partington. Michael was a guitarist, vocalist, and songwriter in the critically acclaimed band, Head of Femur. In 2008 left behind everything he owned and moved to Taiwan, where he lived in a two bedroom apartment in a small Taiwanese alley, befriending the locals and trying all of the local delicacies. He quickly began recording his debut record, "Radios and Flying Birds".

Armed with only a guitar, keyboard, microphone, and laptop, Michael wanted to create the most organic and full sounding record possible using these four items. Hours were spent trying to create the sound of a band, manually playing every note by himself. Lyrics were written with the help of his wife, Maggie Pedersen, and the final notes were recorded while trapped inside during the devastating Typhoon Morakot. Having no outside influence, or even anyone he could speak English with, Michael settled on 13 songs from the many written for the record. He wrote about many topics such as: moving to Asia (Shanghai Maglev Train), alien visitation predictions (Made out of Diamonds), and the unexplained 1908 explosion in Siberia (You Tunguskaed my Heart). The songs are influenced greatly by the time spent traveling throughout Asia. The result is an eclectic, unusual album that will finally see the light of day in February 2011. The duo returned to the United States with open arms, and are currently residing in Nebraska, where Shipbuilding Co. has grown from a solo project to a full live band.

Shipbuilding Company
Radios and Flying Birds
Album art: 
Release date: 
320 kbps

1. 1918 Was Our Year
2. Shanghai Maglev Train
3. Columbus' Ladder
4. Easter Island Song
5. 1939 World's Fair
6. The Last of the Mediterranean Powdered Homes
7. Alexandria
8. Made Out of Diamonds
9. You Tunguskaed My Heart
10. We'll Sort Out the Day
11. The Policeman's Plan
12. Four Dirty Shoes
13. Radios and Flying Birds

Music label: 
United States
Average: 4.4 (7 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.