Gospel Claws - C-L-A-W-S (2010)

Gospel Claws is an American rock band based in Tempe, Arizona. They have been dubbed a soul-infected group with earthy, rolling tunes. The band consists of Joel Marquard (vocals/guitar), Sloan Walters (vocals/keys), Wesley Hilsabeck (guitar), John Mulhern (bass), and Scott Hall (drums).

Gospel Claws formed in 2007 when Joel Marquard began collaborating with long-time friend, Sloan Walters. Marquard stepped away from his founding role in Dear and the Headlights earlier in the year and tapped into a catalog of songs that he had amassed outside of the band. The two songwriters eventually recruited John Mulhern and Scott Hall for a rhythm section. Wesley Hilsabeck joined on guitar in late 2007 and the group began playing shows in the downtown Phoenix art scene.

The Phoenix NewTimes nominated Gospel Claws as one of 4 acts selected for their “Summer of Sound” series as Best Indie Band. 

Throughout 2009 the band also opened for select national acts including No Age, Portugal The Man, Plants & Animals, Cotton Jones, and Cage the Elephant.

Gospel Claws
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Walk Me Down
2. Summer Nights Lakeside
3. Baby, I'll Take You Home
4. Stars In My Heart
5. Avenues
6. Somebody Stole My Money
7. Need For Speed
8. Householder
9. La Pequeña
10. Greeley Estates
11. Whispers & Talking

Music label: 
Common Wall Media/Modern Art
United States
Average: 4.7 (6 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!


Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.