of Montreal - False Priest (2010)

Let no one say Of Montreal's Kevin Barnes is not adventurous. After releasing one of the decade's wildest psychedelic pop albums in Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?, Of Montreal followed it up with 2008's Skeletal Lamping, which was released on just about every format you can think of. Recently, and worked on a song for a Nick Jr. comp for Yo Gabba Gabba! For False Priest, Barnes went into the studio listening to Parliament/Funkadelic, which he plans to combine with the psychedelic work of his previous material as well as '80s No Wave. While Barnes has a tendency of making such preposterous statements, he usually backs it up with solid recordings, which is more than can be said for most of his peers.
~ Ethan Stanislawsk

of Montreal
False Priest
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. I Feel Ya' Strutter
2. Our Riotous Defects [ft. Janelle Monáe]
3. Coquet Coquette
4. Godly Intersex
5. Enemy Gene [ft. Janelle Monáe]
6. Hydra Fancies
7. Like A Tourist
8. Sex Karma [ft. Solange Knowles]
9. Girl Named Hello
10. Famine Affair
11. Casualty Of You
12. Around The Way
13. You Do Mutilate?

Music label: 
United States
Average: 3.4 (10 votes)
Your rating: None