Dead Confederate - Sugar (2010)


Athens, Georgia-based quintet Dead Confederate is excited to announce the release of their sophomore record "Sugar", due on August 24th on TAO Recordings/Old Flame. The anticipated follow up to their debut Wrecking Ball, this album explores new styles beyond the aching, bleak psychedelia with which the band originally made their mark.

Recorded by John Agnello (Hold Steady, Sonic Youth, Dinosaur Jr.) during a record-setting blizzard in New Jersey, the sessions focused on the malleability of the freshly written songs. The start to this progression was shaped by tours with legends Dinosaur Jr. and Meat Puppets, and gave Dead Confederate an increased appreciation for the early underground bandsof the 80s and 90s that laid the foundation on which their sound is built. The album also features a special guest appearance by J. Mascis on the single “Giving It All Away.”

Splitting songwriting duties between bassist Brantly Senn and singer/guitarist Hardy Morris, each songwriter picked their favoriteof the other’s contributions, creating a complimentary collection of songs. Instead of touring the newly penned tracks, the band (Jason Scarboro, Walker Howle, John Watkins) spent two days learning 20 songs and a week reworking them, then laid half of them down.

Dead Confederate is currently touring Europe, with a return to the US in June for Kentucky’s Forecastle Festival. Be on the lookout for more tour dates as the release of Sugar nears.

“Dead Confederate’s alt-country/grunge hybrid doesn’t just feel like a compelling debut, it feels like a compelling new genre.” – The Onion

“Artist To Watch…a raw howling take on Southern rock…” – Rolling Stone

“Although southern Civil War soldiers may remain six feet under, Dead Confederate’s sincere versatility drives home rock’n'roll that is damn well alive and kicking.” –

“Known for its notoriously insane live show, this dramatic band forges a distinctive style…” – Paste

“Dead Confederate’s wall of sound feels cinematic and atmospheric, loud and beautiful.” – NPR


Dead Confederate
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. In the Dark
2. Run From the Gun (w/Ben Wigler)
3. Father Figure
4. Quiet Kid
5. By Design
6. Mob Scene
7. Semi-Thought
8. Giving It All Away (w/ J Mascis)
9. Sugar
10. Shocked to Realize

Music label: 
TAO Recordings/Old Flame
United States
Average: 4.3 (10 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.