Demians - Mute (2010)



The multi instrumentalist and French music mastermind Nicolas Chapel finished his new Demians album named “Mute”, which will be released throughout Europe on June 28th and in the USA on August 10th 2010! Go to Demians’ MySpace page ( and check out the new song “\"Swing Of The Airwaves\" to get a first impression of the upcoming release.

With the album Nicolas of Demians takes it all to a new level. If the debut album was the calming friend, who reasoned with you and told you everything is going to be alright, the successor „Mute“ is the best friend who kicks you in the butt and drives you forward when your world is tumbling down on you.

\"I wanted the record to reflect my strengths as well as my weaknesses, so it doesn\'t sound as pleasing and nice as the first record did” he explains.

“Mute”contains nine songs that range from raw alternative to orchestral parts and poetic sounds, but the focus is always on the song. The influences are diverse, reaching from Tori Amos and Radiohead to Ambient music.

The album was composed and recorded in Normandy in a house near the sea – again a solo effort with real instruments such as cello, double bass, violin, drums, mellotron, piano, guitar – completely without samples. Why alone? “In a band you always compound with the egos of the others. If you write a book you don’t leave the choice of the verbs to one author and the choice of the adjectives to another one.” says Nicolas Chapel.

“One of the most assured and accomplished debut albums I’ve ever heard, the textures and dynamics within the music are breathtaking. A must for everyone that appreciates the art of epic and ambitious 21st century rock music” is Steven Wilson’s comment on 'Building An Empire', the debut release by French act Demians.”

Album art: 
Release date: 
192 kbps

1. Swing Of The Airwaves
2. Feel Alive
3. Porcelain
4. Black Over Gold
5. Overhead
6. Tidal
7. Rainbow Ruse
8. Hesitation Waltz
9. Falling From The Sun

Music label: 
Inside Out Music
Average: 4.8 (6 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.