Jakob Dylan - Women And Country (2010)

Recorded in Los Angeles in May of 2009 and produced by the legendary T-Bone Burnett, "Women and Country" marks Dylan's second solo effort. He says he was pleased to enlist Burnett, both because the two have a longstanding friendship and because Dylan describes the producer as a musical "historian" with an unparalleled depth and breadth of knowledge when it comes to blues, folk and rock 'n' roll. "I knew that there wasn't going to be great amount of frustration making the record with him," Dylan says. 

"Believe it or not, this many years later, it still seems like you're trying to get around other people's ideas. I knew that wasn't going to be the issue here. That allowed me to bite off something fairly large." 

The album also features backup vocals by Neko Case and Kelly Hogan, whose help Dylan enlisted to enrich the album with a different personality on 8 of its 11 tracks. (For his upcoming tour, Dylan will be accompanied by Case's backing band; Case will appear on select dates as well.) 

Jakob Dylan
Women And Country
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Nothing but the whole wide world
2. Down on our own shield
3. Lend a hand
4. We don't live here anymore
5. Everybody's hurting
6. Yonder come the blues
7. Holy rollers for love
8. Truth for a truth
9. They've trapped us boys
10. Smile when you call me that
11. Standing eight count

Music label: 
Columbia Records
United States
Average: 4.3 (8 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!


Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.