The Whigs - In the Dark (2010)

Decidedly taking a turn toward a more percussive-oriented groove, The Whigs’ third album, a raucously fun 'In the Dark', bursts through your speaks with opener “Hundred/Million,” which finds vocalist Parker Gispert flipping through the many “people” in his mind (which is me/ and which is not?) to decipher what is his true voice. Synthed out and warm all around, this is a great opening track to set the train rolling. Electronica pops and gurgles throughout—a definite trademark of producer Ben H. Allen (a longtime friend of the band and the mastermind behind the board for such hits as Gnarls Barkley’s 'St. Elsewhere' and Animal Collective’s 'Merriweather Post Pavilion'). Adding to the stew pot are The Whigs’ trademark punk-rock leanings. While the cavalcade of different musical stylings would seem to make the album a confusing affair, 'In the Dark' flows easily from track to track, thanks to Gispert’s warm vocals and jaunty guitar playing, a thumping bass line from Tim Deaux and pounding drums via Julian Dorio.
Known for their enthralling live show, the Athens, GA trio are currently on tour with Black Rebel Motorcycle Club introducing fans to the new material, which Filter Magazine has already hailed for "artfully combining the disenchanted swagger of '70s punk with the infectious, catchy bounce of '60s pop" and Maxim Magazine simply called "riff-tastic." 
With each release, The Whigs have won over fans and critics with their pedal-to-the-metal power earning them universal praise as one of America's finest young rock 'n' roll bands. 

Developed through years of non-stop touring and two critically acclaimed albums, 'In the Dark', with its impressive range and undeniable vigor, sees The Whigs doing what all-great bands do - furthering their artistic scope with each successive effort. 

The Whigs
In the Dark
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Hundred / Million
2. Black Lotus
3. Kill Me Carolyne
4. Someone's Daughter
5. So Lonely
6. Dying
7. I Don't Even Care About the One I Love
8. Automatic
9. I Am for Real
10. In the Dark
11. Naked

Music label: 
ATO Records
Athens, Georgia, United States
Average: 4 (6 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.