Scout Niblett - The Calcination Of Scout Niblett (2010)


The Calcination Of Scout Niblett’ is the fifth soul-searing record from the musical entity known as Scout Niblett.

People come to Emma Louise ‘Scout’ Niblett for the joy of a scalding hot bath of sound amidst stark, bluesy emoting - and she won‘t let them down this time. But something has shifted. Having made herself a record or two‘s worth of celebration ballads and moody freakouts, she seems to be hearing that call from within to feel for other things. And so, it‘s time to holler inward. Throughout 'The Calcination Of Scout Niblett‘ we see Scout in deep focus. The songs string together, almost as one, her guitar growls and bites, and the black velvet of space hovers. Just when the tension in the room and the filament of guitar can‘t glow any brighter, suddenly a band erupts, accompaniment to her vision - and then back down to Scout and guitar.

'The Calcination Of Scout Niblett‘ is an intense devotional, a determined spirit journey and a collection of great slow-dance songs.

Scout Niblett continues her fruitful studio relationship with Steve Albini on 'The Calcination Of Scout Niblett‘. Even the silence sounds devastating.

Scout Niblett
The Calcination Of Scout Niblett
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Just Do It!
2. The Calcination of Scout Niblett
3. I.B.D.
4. Bargin
5. Cherry Cheek Bomb
6. Kings
7. Lucy Lucifer
8. Duke Of Anxiety
9. Ripe With Life
10. Strip Me Pluto
11. Meet And Greet

Music label: 
Drag City
Average: 3.7 (7 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.