Dappled Cities - Zounds (2009)


After 2 years of ludicrously intense international touring and songwriting, Dappled Cities prepare for the release of their 3rd album, the art pop opus, Zounds. The work is the highest achievement of a ten year career traced back from their current home on US powerhouse label Dangerbird Records (also home of Silversun Pickups) to the teenagers first playing music together in their Australian childhood suburbs. 

Under the expert A&R guidance of Justin Meldal-Johnsen (music director and bassist for Beck,

Ladytron and Nine Inch Nails) and respected American co-producer Chris Coady (TV on the Radio), Dappled Cities got busy making mayhem and magic. Zounds opening salvo 'Hold Your Back' is the most adventurous track of the band's career - a deep, brooding magnificent bastard anthem which is "barely even a song, more a collection of ideas" 

It's parting shot is 'Stepshadows', a Derricourt acoustic lament more akin to an Ennio Morricone spaghetti western soundtrack than a conventional rock song. First single 'The Price' is a political song forged in a disco inferno while 'The Night is Young At Heart', at an epic six minutes, is the band's longest ever track.

Dappled Cities
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Hold Your Back
2. Answer Is Zero
3. The Price
4. Wooden Ships
5. Slow For Me My Island
6. The Night Is Young At Heart
7. Miniature Alas
8. Don't Stop There
9. Kid
10. Middle People
11. Apart
12. Stepshadows

Music label: 
Speak N Spell
Average: 5 (6 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!


Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.