Mew - No More Stories Are Told Today, I'm Sorry, They Washed Away (2009)

The full title of this record is actually a poem...

No more stories Are told today I'm sorry They washed away

No more stories The world is grey I'm tired Let's wash away

...and the music within is just as ponderous and epic as that implies. For No More Stories, the band has dropped the continuous suite style of And the Glass Handed Kites in favor of discrete songs. The album features some tracks that stray from Mew's usual quiet-to-loud song structure (see "Cartoons") but their trademark epic prog-rock is still the dominant force here. This is the first time that Mew has recorded as a three-piece, since bassist Johan Wohlert left to focus on his family. The band has brought back Rich Costey, who also produced their breakout hit Frengers, to produce this album.

No More Stories Are Told Today, I'm Sorry, They Washed Away
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. New Terrain
2. Introducing Palace Players
3. Beach
4. Repeater Beater
5. Intermezzo 1
6. Silas the Magic Car
7. Cartoons and Macreme Wounds
8. A Dream
9. Hawaii
10. Vaccine
11. Tricks
12. Intermezzo
13. Sometimes Life Isn't Easy
14. Reprise

Music label: 
Columbia Records
Average: 4.7 (11 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.