The Mars Volta - Octahedron (2009)

Octahedron is the stunning new album from The Mars Volta. An album heady with the emotion and high-drama that has always been the bands trademark, their newfound simplicity and focus has delivered some of the most immediate and powerful songs in their discography. The album opens with the tender ache of Since Weve Been Wrong, Cedrics keening vocal establishing a mood thats deeply blue, powerfully melancholic, a suckerpunch that hits every bit as hard as Octahedrons unashamed rockers (the gleaming futuristic funk of Teflon, the tense chase-music of Cotopaxi). Pulling back from the full-tilt experimentation of previous releases, the album invests its energies in Omars gift for songcraft, for swooning guitar runs of high tension and emotive power (Luciforms epic riffage), and for the nagging hooks and melodies that wreath the churning rhythms of Desperate Graves.

The Mars Volta
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Since We've Been Wrong
2. Teflon
3. Halo Of Nembutals
4. With Twilight As My Guide
5. Cotopaxi
6. Desperate Graves
7. Copernicus
8. Luciforms

Music label: 
Rodriguez Lopez Production
Average: 3.8 (10 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.