Eels - Hombre Lobo (2009)

Blinking Lights and Other Revelations - frontman E's 2005 masterpiece about  his parents' deaths and sister's suicide - was always going to be difficult  to follow. E has taken the best course and changed tack, delivering a set of songs about desire through the persona of the dog-faced boy from 2001's Souljacker album, who he imagines to have grown up as a "dignified old werewolf". This provides the basis for several fruity garage romps. "Darling, don't fear me," he urges as the beast closes in on Lilac Breeze, while Fresh Blood's vampire-like lust sees him actually howling like a werewolf. However, the album's heart lies in a clutch of songs exploring the "dreadful, intense want" of love, described in the superb The Longing as a "pressure on my chest". My Timing Is Off has a lovely, bittersweet melody to match its
subject matter. In The Look You Give That Guy, E confesses to being "nothing much" while craving for the look she gives another. The garage rock is fun, but the mesmeric admissions of loneliness and failings make this one to return to.

Hombre Lobo
Album art: 
Release date: 

1. Prizefighter
2. That Look You Gave That Guy
3. Lilac Breeze
4. In My Dreams
5. Tremendous Dynamite
6. The Longing
7. Fresh Blood
8. What's A Fella Gotta Do
9. My Timing Is Off
10. Alll The Beautiful Things
11. Beginner's Luck
12. Ordinary Men

Music label: 
Los Angeles, California, United States
Average: 4 (3 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.