The Moog - Razzmatazz Orfeum (2009)

Formed in Budapest in 2004 by then-teenagers Tonyo Szabo (vocals), Adi Bajor (guitar) and Gergo Dorozsmai (drums), and later joined by Csaba Szabo (bass) and Miguel Gyorgy (second guitar), THE MOOG have been compared to such modern-day chart-toppers as The Strokes and The Hives; but their influences run deep and wide: The Beatles, David Bowie, The Sonics, The Smiths, Ramones, Roxy Music and Bauhaus are all responsible for inspiring the band’s sound.

Though criticized by the old establishment in their native country, THE MOOG are pioneers to their homeland rock brethren by being the first popular Hungarian band to sing in English and tour Western Europe and the U.S. Soviet rule prevented previous generations from being exposed to the artists that influenced the young quintet, but The Moog were raised by MTV and the western alternative bands it played, such as Nirvana, Sonic Youth and Blur. This eye opening experience led the band to reach back to classic American and British 60s and 70s rock and punk. The Moog found their well-hidden muse and the rest, as they say, is history.

THE MOOG’s Razzmatazz Orfeum comes out July 21st on MuSick Recordings and the quintet will be touring the U.S. in September of ‘09.

The Moog
Razzmatazz Orfeum
Album art: 
Release date: 
  1. This Is Horror
  2. Panic
  3. You Raised A Vampire
  4. When I See You
  5. Can't Say No, Can't Say Yes
  6. Lost Day
  7. Joyclad Armies
  8. Sphinx
  9. Make Me Happy
  10. Self And Soul
  11. Mina
  12. Epilogue B4
Music label: 
MuSick Records
Budapest, Hungary
Average: 3.3 (3 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.