Doves - Kingdom of Rust (2009)

Kingdom of Rust is the fourth studio album from Manchester-based indie rock band Doves. The album is set for release on April 6, 2009 in the UK via Heavenly Records, and April 7, 2009 in the US via Astralwerks Records. Both Heavenly and Astralwerks will issue the album on double heavyweight 12" vinyl. The album follows a four-year gap between their last album Some Cities in 2005. A CD/DVD release of Kingdom of Rust, originally announced when promotion started for the album, was pulled by the label three weeks prior to the album's release.

The album will be preceded by first single "Kingdom of Rust" on March 30th. Doves also offered the album's lead track "Jetstream" as a free download on their website, starting from January 28, 2009. Regarding "Jetstream," the band mentioned being fans of the Vangelis score to Blade Runner, and wrote the song as "an imaginary song for the closing credits on Ridley Scott's classic."

According to a post on the band's official blog, the band recorded the album in a converted farmhouse barn in Cheshire, England. Producer John Leckie (The Stone Roses by The Stone Roses, The Bends by Radiohead) was set to co-produce the entire album with the band, but was unable due to previous commitments. Instead, Leckie produced two tracks from the album--"Winter Hill" and "10:03" (as well as the B-side "Push Me On")--and the band worked with Dan Austin (producer of Cherry Ghost's Thirst for Romance album; programmer for Massive Attack) on the remaining nine songs.

Kingdom of Rust
Album art: 
Release date: 
320 kbps

1. Jetstream 2. Kingdom Of Rust3. The Outsiders4. Winter Hill5. 10 036. The Greatest Denier7. Birds Flew Backwards8. Spellbound9. Compulsion10. House Of Mirrors11. Lifelines

Music label: 
Heavenly Records, Astralwerks Records
Manchester, Northwest, United Kingdom
Average: 5 (3 votes)
Your rating: None

Join our new project for ukrainian sound!

Please mail me for questions and don't forget to use contact form.